English Version | Bahasa Indonesia

List of Monarchs and Reigning Periods

The list of Kings who have been reined in Surakarta Hadiningrat Sunanate is commenced from His Majesty Pakubuwono II (1745-1749), the founder of the Kingdom. In fact, Surakarta Hadiningrat Sunanate is a continuation of Kartasura Hadiningrat Sunanate consecutively led by Amangkurat II (1680-1702) as its founder, Amangkurat III (1702-1705), His Majesty Pakubuwono I (1705-1719), Amangkurat IV (1719-1726), and His Majesty Pakubuwono II (1726-1742) as the last King who moved the center of the Kingdom to Solo as well as the sign that Kartasura Hadiningrat Sunanate was formally established. The followings are the list of monarchs and reigning periods:

  1. His Majesty Pakubuwono II (1745-1749), whose original name is Raden Mas Prabasuyasa, was born on December 8, 1711, ascended the throne on August 15, 1726, and died on December 20, 1749. He was the last King of Kartasura Hadiningrat Sunanate who moved the center of the Kingdom from Kartasura to Solo and founded Kartasura Hadiningrat Sunanate since 1745.
  2. His Majesty Pakubuwono III (1749-1788), whose original name is Raden Mas Suryadi, was born in Kartasura in 1732, was crowned on December 15, 1749, and died on September 26, 1788. He was the first King of Surakarta Hadiningrat Sunanate appointed by the Dutch.
  3. His Majesty Pakubuwono IV (1788-1820), whose original name is Raden Mas Subadya and earned the nickname “Sunan Bagus” because his face is handsome when he was crowned at a young age was born on September 2, 1768, ascended the throne on September 29, 1788, and died on October 2, 1820. He was known as an expert in literature, especially the literary spirit. One of his literary works is Serat Wulangreh.
  4. His Majesty Pakubuwono V (1820-1823), whose original name is Raden Mas Sugandi and earned the nickname “Sunan Sugih” for physical and spiritual wealth that he had was born in 1785, ascended the throne on February 10, 1820, and died on 5 September 1823. Like his father, he is also known as writer and an artist, one of his most famous literary works is his Serat Centhini.
  5. His Majesty Pakubuwono VI (1823-1830), whose original name is Raden Mas Sapardan, also known as “Sinuhun Bangun Tapa” because he often did meditation or tapa brata was born in Surakarta on April 26, 1807, ascended the throne on 15 September 1823, and died in Ambon on June 2, 1849. By the government of the Republic of Indonesia, His Majesty Pakubuwono VI designated as Indonesian national hero.
  6. His Majesty Pakubuwono VII (1830-1858), whose original name is Raden Mas Malikis Solikin, was born on July 28, 1796, ascended the throne on June 14, 1830 replaced his nephew, Pakubuwono VI, who exiled to Ambon by the Dutch, and died on July 28, 1858.
  7. His Majesty Pakubuwono VIII (1859-1861), whose original name is Raden Mas Frame, was born on April 20, 1789, ascended the throne on August 17, 1858 at the age of 69 years to replace his half-brother (same father different mother), Pakubuwono VII and died on December 28, 1861.
  8. His Majesty Pakubuwono IX (1861-1893), whose original name is Raden Mas Duksino, was born on December 22, 1830, crowned as the King of Surakarta on December 30, 1861, and died on March 16, 1893. In the reign of His Majesty Pakubuwono IX is what the great poet Ranggawarsita called “crazy times”.
  9. His Majesty Pakubuwono X (1893-1939), whose original name is Raden Mas Malikul Kusno, was born on November 29, 1866, ascended the throne on March 30, 1893, and died on February 1, 1939. He was a nationalist figure that strongly supported national movement and actively joined an organization, namely Sarekat Islam (SI), Solo. By the people of Surakarta during his reign, His Majesty Pakubuwono X received honors as the “Sunan Panutup” (the last great King of Surakarta).
  10. His Majesty Pakubuwono XI (1939-1944), whose original name is Raden Mas Antasena, was born on February 1, 1886, crowned on 26 April 1939, and died in 1945, several months before Indonesia's independence. The reign of His Majesty Pakubuwono XI was during World War II, and the era of his leadership experienced the turnover of colonial rule, from the Dutch East Indies to the Japanese occupation troops since 1942.
  11. His Majesty Pakubuwono XII (1945-2004), whose original name is Raden Mas Suryaguritna, was born on April 14, 1925, ascended the throne on June 11, 1945, and died on June 11, 2004. In his rule, Indonesia declared its independence as a sovereign state. His Majesty Pakubuwono XII was the King who had led the longest period of Surakarta Hadiningrat Sunanate, which about 59 years (1945-2004).
Read : 1405 time(s)
« History


Comment Form

bagyo suwasono October 17, 2011 22:32

Membaca artikel ini hanya sampai tahun 2004, kalau saat ini siapa raja Solo ?

Prajitnno Nopember 27, 2012 10:12

Salam.....Mohon info putra putri dari PB-X. Terima kasih sebelum dan sesudahnya.

Pungky Hoesni December 04, 2012 20:10

sugeng rahayu, permisi nama saya pungky hoesni, saya berniat menanyakan mengenai "Kanjeng Sultan Hambanguntopo Ngadjogjakarta" apakah kira2 mengetahui gerangan siapa yg dimaksud tsb ? apakah ada data mengenai putro wayah dari PB VI termasuk yg dari selir2nya ? tujuan sy adalah utk mencocokan dg data sorosilah yg dibuat oleh suwargi eyang saya atas perhatian dan bantuannya saya ucapkan banyak terimakasih salam hormat, pungky hoesni