English Version | Bahasa Indonesia


  • History

    Kutai Kartanegara ing Martadipura is a sultanate located in area known as Tenggarong, East Kalimantan Province. It is estimated to stand in the 1300s AD (14th century) and has been removed in 1960. However, the Sultanate was back to exist in 2001 with appointing the King who holds the title of Sultan Haji Aji Muhammad Salehuddin II. A.   Historical Interaction with Majapahit Kingdom The history of Kutai Kartanegara ing Martadipura Sultanate can not be separated from the establishment of Kutai Kingdom. The existence of Kutai Kingdom has been known by discovering seven inscriptions (stone pillar) called yupa in East Kalimantan. All those yupa written in Sanskrit and used Pallawa letters that were commonly used in the 5th century AD in the commandment of King Mulawarman. Comparing between the letters in inscriptions of Kutai Kingdom with the Pallawa letters originating from India it predicted that Kutai ... Read more »

  • List of Monarchs and Reigning Periods

    Below is the list of Sultans of Kutai Kartanegara ing Martadipura Sultanate: Aji Batara Agung Dewa Sakti (1300-1320 AD) Aji Batara Agung Paduka Nira (1320-1370 AD) Aji Maharaja Sultan (1370–1420 AD) Aji Mandarsyah (1420–1475 AD) Aji Pangeran Tumenggung Baya-Baya (1475–1525 AD) Aji Raja Mahkota Mulia Alam (1525–1600 AD) Aji Dilanggar (1600–1605 AD) Aji Pangeran Sinom Panji Mendapa ing Martadipura (1605–1635 AD) Aji Pangeran Agung ing Martadipura (1635–1650 AD) Aji Pangeran Dipati Majakesuma ing Martadipura (1650–1686 AD) Aji Bagi Gelar Ratu Agung (1686–1700 AD) Pangeran Jembangan (1700–1730 AD) Aji Pangeran Dipati Anom Mendapa ing Martadipura or Aji Yang Begawan (1730–1732 AD) Aji Sultan Muhammad Idris (1732–1739 AD) Aji Marhum Muhammad Muslihudin (1739–1782 AD) Aji Sultan Muhammad Salehudin (1782–1845 AD) Aji Sultan Muhammad ... Read more »

  • System of Government

    The system of government in Kutai Kartanegara ing Martadipura Kingdom which then transformed into Kutai Kartanegara ing Martadipura Sultanate, contained the Constitution of Salaten Panji. Panji Salaten was settled in the reign of Aji Pangeran Sinom Panji Mendapa ing Martadipura. It consists of 39 chapters and includes code of law called the Constitution of Beraja Nanti containing 164 rules. Both of the laws contain rules which was based on Islamic law. According to Panji Salaten, King or Sultan is most powerful in the system of governance structure. As they think logically, the one who could be able to ensure their welfare and safety is just a King or Sultan. This statement can be found in chapter 14 briefly it states: "The King of the noble, indeed hereditary King ... His words bring good luck, a soul in the country .... Everything that has become the king's decision can not be contested (article ... Read more »

  • Realm

    In the triumph of Kutai Kartanegara ing Martadipura Sultanate, its territory did not only reached the Regional Level II Tenggarong, but also extended to various areas in East Kalimantan. In the period between 1300 until 1959, the Sultanate's territory covered the areas which now known as Regency (both West and East Kutai District), municipality of Balikpapan, and Samarinda with the boundaries as follows: In the north until the region of Sangkulirang In the south until the region of Pasir On the east covering the whole delta of Mahakam River In the west covering Tunjung Plateau. According to another source, the Sultanate's territory extended until it took control over Bontang City. So if it combined, the total area of ​​ Sultanate’s territory was approximately 94,700 km ². In 1959, the area of Sultanate’s territory was divided into 3 regions level II Regional Government, Kutai District, ... Read more »