English Version | Bahasa Indonesia


  • History

    The History of Serdang Sultanate The inception of Serdang Sultanate is closely related with the glory of Aceh Darussalam Sultanate. The Commander in Chief of Army and Commander of Fleet of the Sultanate called Sri Paduka Tuanku Gocah Pahlawan became the main figure of Serdang Sultanate establishment. Under the command of Sri Paduka Tuanku Gocah Pahlawan, Aceh Darussalam Sultanate which was under the reign of Sultan Iskandar Muda (1607-1636 AD), succeeded in conquering the lands along the West Coast and East Coast of Sumatra, including Johor and Pahang (1617 AD), Kedah (1620 AD), Nias (1624 AD), and others. Sri Paduka Tuanku Gocah Pahlawan in title of ”Laksamana Kuda Bintan”, was allegedly the same person with Laksamana Malem Dagang, the leader of Aceh Darussalam in the fight against the Portuguese in 1629. Due his devotion to Aceh Darussalam Sultanate, Sultan Iskandar Muda was pleased to ... Read more »

  • List of Monarchs and Reigning Periods

    The following are the names of the Sultan who had led Serdang Sultanate: Sultan Umar Johan Alamshah in title of Kejeruan Junjongan (1723-1767). Sultan Ainan Johan Alamshah (1767-1817). Sultan Thaf Sinar Baharshah (1817-1850). Sultan Basyaruddin Shariful Alamshah (1819-1880). Shariful Alamshah Sultan Sulaiman (1866-1946). During the years 1880-1866, Serdang Sultanate held by Tengku Raja Muda Mustafa (the uncle of Shariful Alamshah Sultan Sulaiman) because Shariful Alamshah was still too young. Tengku Putera Mahkota Rajih Anwar (1946-1960). Tuanku Abunawar Sinar Shariful Alam Al-Haj (1997-2001). Tuanku Luckman Sinar Baharshah II (2001-present), crowned in 2002. Read more »

  • System of Government

    In the first reign of Serdang under the leadership of Tuanku Umar Johan Alamshah In title of Kejeruan Junjongan (1723−1767), the administration of Serdang Sultanate was in uncertainty state as the conflicts occurred. Only in the second reign, Sultan Ainan Johan Alamshah (1767-1817), Serdang Sultanate began to formulate the concept of administration. One of the most important is the establishment of Big Four (Wazir Sultan), which are: Little Prince, in power of Tuan River. Datok Supreme Minister, in power of Araskabu. Datok Paduka Raja, in power of Batangkuis. Sri Maharaja, in power of Ramunia. Sultan Ainan Johan Alamshah strengthen the legitimacy of the Institute of Big four on the phenomena of nature and animals symbolizing the four corners of natural power (west, east, north, south) and all-powerful beast feet and principles of Sejarangan Furnaces (four stone buffer for cooking) ... Read more »

  • Realm

    Judging from history course, the changes in Serdang Sultanate area from time to time are obtained through several ways, including the way of conquest, kinship (marriage), or incorporation of the territory by the small kingdoms into the area of Serdang Sultanate. Since its inception, the area of Serdang Sultanate amended several times along with the times and socio-political conditions that occured. During the colonial period, Serdang Sultanate was inserted into the Residency of East Sumatra with other kingdoms, which are: Asahan kingdom, Deli kingdom, and Leidong Kualuh kingdom, Langkat Kingdom, Pelalawan kingdom, and the Kingdom of Siak Sri Inderapura. After the independence of Indonesia in 1945 and the recognition of sovereignty in 1949, the change was occurred in Serdang Sultanate which was originally included in the territory of East Sumatra, since 1950 the Sultranate merged into North Sumatra province up ... Read more »